Blast from the Past!!

Here is an email from an alumni (Class of 1983!!) about her memories in Gamma Sig!

“Forget best memories in college — my Gamma Sig sisters (and the corresponding brothers of APO) gave me directly or indirectly just about every good memory from my days at Delaware, which, as we went through choosing colleges, told my daughter is like Disney World, the happiest place on Earth.
It seems hard to comprehend that going to Rush was a complete fluke, and although those $35 in dues were a hardship (because everything I earned during the summer went towards high school and later college tuition) how lucky I am that Sharon Tandy dragged me there so she wouldn’t have to go herself and “it would look good on a resume.” Gamma Sig gave me the opportunity to be and to be appreciated for who I am. I loved our projects, I loved the people who chose Gamma Sig and APO, and after 25+ years, four corporate relocations, and a lot of life, they are the only people I still know from college. Last year I got back together with friends I literally hadn’t seen since 1986, and it was if time had stood still.
My favorite memories have to be from Rockwood Museum. They held an annual haunted house, which I chaired my first semester as an active sister. To say I was over my head was an understatement, but you would never know from the overwhelming success. When I pledged the previous Spring, there were only 17 sisters, and that semester there were 20 clueless pledges, so experience and numbers were NOT on my side. We had done it as a joint project with ZBT, and Rockwood paired us with Delmarva Power and Light Employee Association, and it went from being little with no budget to being huge (complete with handicap accessible emergency exits)! I am completely non-mechanical, and when I realized we needed help and ZBT wasn’t hearing us, our APO brothers came in to the rescue and the result was unbelievable! In that semester I learned how to manage, how to ask for help (and how not to), and how to adapt to the unexpected and fly by the seat of my pants. In the midst of all of this, I had broken up with my first love (kicked that ZBT to the curb after six months, a week and twelve hours but who was counting LOL), dropped 20 pounds in two weeks because I couldn’t eat lunch without throwing up (and I refused to change dining halls and instead faced my fears), and Gamma Sig and APO helped me go from feeling like a loser to forever changing how I feet about myself and my life. I remember waking up the Friday morning and saying, “Oh my God — the semi is tomorrow and I don’t have a date” to Saturday morning’s, “Oh my God — the semi is tonight and I have 3 dates!” I knew only Sharon when I pledged, yet they are the ones who were there for me then and through every challenge I’ve ever had, whether they know it or not.
My life has been one big roller coaster with unbelievable twists and turns and my ability to not only survive but thrive has come from growing up from a little girl to a force of nature with Gamma Sig, and I wouldn’t trade those years for ANYTHING!”
Gamma Love,
Rosemary Gallagher Maul
Theta Pledge Class (Fall of 1983)

Untitled

One thought on “Blast from the Past!!

Leave a Reply

